Years 10 & 11 Curriculum - Health & Social Care

BTEC Level 1 / 2 Health and Social Care Tech Award


About 3 million people work in health and social care. Health care roles include doctors, pharmacists, nurses, midwives and healthcare assistants. Whilst social care roles include care assistants, occupational therapists, counsellors and social workers. Together, they account for nearly one in ten of all paid jobs in the UK. Demand for both health and social care is likely to rise, so they will continue to play a key role in UK society and the demand for people to carry out these vital roles will increase.

This course is a practical introduction to life and work in Health and Social Care. Students can develop their understanding of the sector and see whether it is an industry they would like to be in. Students gain practical, transferable skills giving them the confidence to progress in whatever path they choose. As it provides a well-rounded foundation for further study, the BTEC Tech Award in Health and Social Care gives students the opportunity to apply academic knowledge to everyday and work contexts, giving them a great starting point for academic or vocational study post-16, as well as preparing them for future employment.


Course overview

Component 1: Human Lifespan Development

Component 2: Health and Social Care Services and Care Values

Component 3: Health and Wellbeing

  • Internal assessment (coursework)
  • Worth 30% of overall grade
  • Topics covered include: life stages and areas of development, factors that affect development, life events, support.


  • Internal assessment (coursework)
  • Worth 30% of overall grade
  • Topics covered include: types of services, barriers to services, care values, reviewing practice.
  • External assessment (Exam)
  • Worth 40% of overall grade
  • This is a synoptic exam. This means that it draws on previous knowledge from component 1 and 2, as well as additional topics.
  • Topics covered include: factors that affect health and wellbeing, interpreting health indicators, person-centred health and wellbeing improvement plans.



Grades are awarded as follows:

Level 1 Pass - Equivalent-Equivalent to a GCSE 1

Level 1 Merit - Equivalent to a GCSE 2

Level 1 Distinction - Equivalent to a GCSE 3

Level 2 Pass - Equivalent to a GCSE 4

Level 2 Merit - Equivalent to a GCSE 5

Level 2 Distinction - Equivalent to a GCSE 7

Level 2 Distinction*- Equivalent to a GCSE 8/9


The BTEC Tech award is the equivalent to a GCSE qualification and is recognised by colleges and further education providers.


Recommended Equipment

Revision Guide available from the school shop.

Access to a PC at home (desktop or laptop), with a good internet connection and the ability to download software.


Health and Social Care is only available as an option to those students who are already studying it in Year 9. Excellent written English skills are vital for success in this course due to the nature of assessment, alongside organisational and time management skills. Having an enthusiasm for the subject is also vital, as well as a desire to work with others.


Enquiries to:

Mrs A. Hardaker – Learning Leader of Health and Social Care